Local Information & Links

(click on underlined link to jump down to relevant information and links)

Accommodation

There are more places to stay than in this list. For more, check the site  www.lakewanaka.co.nz
Note: prices were updated Oct 2015.

Budget

   

Hollys Backpackers ($25 upwards)

(03) 443 8187

www.hollys-backpacker.co.nz

Mountain View Backpackers ($25 upwards) (03) 443 9010 www.wanakabackpackers.co.nz
Matterhorn South ($29 upwards) (03) 443 1119 www.matterhornsouth.co.nz
Wanaka Bakpaka ($28 upwards) (03) 443 7837 www.wanakabakpaka.co.nz
Flying Kiwi Backpackers ($25 upwards) (03) 443 6723 www.flying-kiwi-backpackers.co.nz
Wanaka Lakeview Holiday Park ($19 tent, $50 cabin upwards) (03) 443 7883 www.wanakalakeview.co.nz
Top Ten Holiday Park ($18 tent, $65 cabin upwards) (03) 443 7360 www.wanakatop10.co.nz
Outlet Motor Camp ($15 tent, $55 cabin) (03) 443 7478 www.lakeoutlet.co.nz
Alberttown Lodge ($33 upwards) (03) 443 9487 www.alberttownlodge.co.nz
Alberttown Camp ground (QLDC) no power ($7 tent) no booking required (03) 443 7883 Cutha River, Highway 6

Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels (Van site $25, Cabins $60 upwards)

(03) 443 7766 www.wanakakiwiholidaypark.nz
     

Mid Range

  >>top of page
Peak Sport Chalet ($145 upwards) (03) 443 6990 www.peak-sportchalet.co.nz
Aspiring Lodge Motel ($105 upwards) (03) 443 7816 www.aspiringlodge.co.nz
Brook Vale Manor Motels ( $135 upwards) (03) 443 8333

www.brookvale.co.nz

Wanaka Heights Motel ($140 upwards) (03) 443 1944

www.wanakaheightsmotel.co.nz

Edgewater Resort ($210 upwards) (03) 443 0011

www.edgewater.co.nz

     

Bed and Breakfast / Homestay

  >>top of page
Renmore House ($230 single, $270 double upwards) (03) 443 6566 www.renmore-house.co.nz

Criffel Peak View ($135 single, $165 double upwards)

(03) 443 5511 www.criffelpeakview.co.nz
Wanaka Luxury Apartments ($140 upwards) (03) 443 4943 www.wla.co.nz
     

Luxury lodge

  >>top of page
Te Wanaka Lodge ($220 upwards) (03) 443 9224 www.tewanaka.co.nz
Wanaka homestead ($240 upwards) (03) 443 5022 www.wanakahomestead.co.nz
Wanaka Springs Lodge ($280 upwards) (03) 443 8421 www.wanakasprings.com
Lime Tree Lodge ($350 upwards) (03) 443 7305 www.limetreelodge.co.nz
Minaret Lodge ($460 upwards) (03) 443 1856 www.minaretlodge.co.nz
RiverRun Lodge ($380 upwards) (03) 443 9049 www.riverrun.co.nz
Tin Tub Lodge ($350 upwards) (03) 443 1662 www.tintubwanaka.com
     

Travel

RENTAL CARS

Car rental companies usually deliver car to your accommodation or you can uplift at the airport.
Rates are based on a one day hire.  You can get cheap rates for multi day (+3 days).

Wanaka and Queenstown ONE day car rentals.

 
Alpine Coachlines and Car Rentals from $25 per day (03) 433 9120 www.alpineconnexions.co.nz
Wanaka Rent a Car from $39 per day (03) 443 6641 www.wanakarentacar.co.nz
Network Rental cars from $70 per day (0800) 427 055 www.networkcarrentals.co.nz
Omega Rental cars from $35 per day (0800) 52 52 10 www.omegarentalcars.com
Apex Car rentals from $48 per day (0800) 500 660 www.apexrentals.co.nz
Ace Rental Cars from $32 per day (0800) 502 277 www.acerentals.co.nz
Avis Rent a Car $85 per day (0800) 65 51 11 www.avis.co.nz
New Zealand Rent a Car from $70 per day (0800) 80 09 56 www.nzrentacar.co.nz
Discount Rentals, enquire for day rate. (0800) 16 17 16 www.discountrentals.co.nz
Thrifty Car Rentals  $44 per day (0800) 73 70 70 www.thrifty.co.nz
     

Multi (only) day Car rentals

   
Usave Car Rentals $59 per day ChCh (0508) 11 22 33 www.hirecar.co.nz
Spaceship Van rentals $30 and upward per day ChCh (0800) 772 237 www.spaceshipsrentals.co.nz
Able rentals from $19 per day Qtn (03) 441 1055 www.ablerentals.co.nz
 

Private transfer - Yellow taxis 0800 443 5555 www.yello.co.nz

Shuttle Buses ex Queenstown to Wanaka return for a half day trip.

Atomic Shuttles - Ph (03) 349 0697

Depart Qtn 8.10 a.m. The Station.

Arrive 9.45 a.m. i-site, Wanaka Cost $20 one way

www.atomictravel.co.nz

Alpine Connextions-  Ph (03) 443 9120

Last Dep Wanaka 4.45p.m. Arrive Q.Town 6p.m. Must book, runs via Cromwell. Cost $35 one way.

www.alpineconnexions.co.nz

Connectabus- Ph 0800 405 066. Departs Wnk 4.45p.m. Arriv Qtn 6.15p.m.  $35 one way.

www.connectabus.com

Naked Bus

Depart Wanaka i-site daily to Queenstown

www.nakedbus.com
Stray- New Zealand Backpaker bus www.straytravel.com

Flights to Wanaka

 

Wanaka airport is 10 min drive from the Wanaka town centre.  Flights arrive from Christchurch daily.   Queenstown airport has domestic and international flights.  www.airnz.co.nz

Fixed wing scenic flights www.aspringair.com
www.flightseeing.co.nz
www.southernalpsair.co.nz
Helicopter scenic flights

www.wanaka-helicopters.co.nz

www.alpineheli.co.nz
www.heliflights.co.nz
www.aspiringhelicopters.co.nz

MORE -
 

Wanaka

Wanaka has a number of attractions and activities below are a list of summertime adventure activities. We are happy to book activities and can advise folk on the best options from passive activities to active adreniline activities.  e-mail us on jump@deepcanyon.co.nz

Summer Adventure Activities

 
Canyoning www.deepcanyon.co.nz
Mountain Biking www.freeridenz.com
River Sledging www.frogz.co.nz
Paragliding www.wanakaparagliding.co.nz
Rockclimbing www.wanakarock.co.nz
Sailing www.sailwanaka.co.nz
Horse Rides www.backcountrysaddles.co.nz
Rafting

www.ecoraft.co.nz

Fishing www.hatchfishing.co.nz
Mountaineering www.adventureconsultants.com
Sky Diving www.skydivewanaka.com
Adventure booking agent & itinerary planning

deepcanyonnz@gmail.com

Jet Boating www.wanakariverjourneys.co.nz
Car Touring www.alpineclasstours.co.nz
Transport to Mt Aspiring National Park www.alpineconnexions.co.nz
   
Weather
 
Metvuw Click for link
Met Service Click for link
   
New Zealand Map Search
Click for link
   
Wanaka Hot links
 
Cinema Paradiso www.paradiso.net.nz
Wanaka History www.wanaka-info.co.nz/contact.html
Mt Aspiring National Park www.doc.govt.nz/parks-and-recreation/national-parks/mount-aspiring
 

Canyoning Abroad

 
Spain- Exploraguies www.exploraguies.com
 

Other Useful Links

 

Wanaka - Upcoming Events Calendar

click here

Tourism NZ Queenstown www.queenstownnz.co.nz

Customer travel reviews

www.tripadvisor.com
NZ Backpacker board www.backpackerboard.co.nz
100% Pure New Zealand www.newzealand.com
Luxury Adventures www.luxuryadventures.co.nz
First Light Travel- experiential tourism click here
New Zealand Tourism On Line www.tourism.net.nz
North Island Canyoning

www.canyonz.co.nz

Abel Tasman Canyoning www.abeltasmancanyons.co.nz
Australian Canyoning Blue Mountains NSW www.highandwild.com.au
Haka Tours- extreme NZ touring from the extreme to the sedate

www.hakatours.com

New Zealand Adventure Travel Specialist

www.firstlighttravel.com

Jasons New Zealand Travel Site

www.jasons.co.nz

Active New Zealand

www.activenewzealand.com
Northanger Sailing Expeditions

www.northanger.org

Jet Star www.jetstar.com.au
Air New Zealand www.airnewzealand.co.nz